Chiaroscuro

Chiaroscuro

by: Clifford Douglas Hennings, OFM

Weary my soul no longer friend, stay your embrace no more

A ramshackle such as is me,  is at the ready to disembark

To depart this ship of memory, thrashing in an ocean dark

And to step into that land long now seen, and kiss its gentle shore

In this time, my twilight hour, I do now name you friend

Long I dubbed you enemy, against your press I did defend

 

But Lo, you know, healing were the days and years of yore!

The dawning age of youthful dreams, thoughts of you I had none

A shadow cast and never seen, for having always faced the sun

A heart alight, green with glee and leaning into the fore

By quick expectancy, seeing neither starboard, port nor stern

Brilliant were the waters then, with passion mine eyes did burn!

 

Yet in the high-light hours of day, came a tempest’s rolling roar

Ahead it drew before the light, throwing gloom, arousing fear

Against the squalling of its breath, valiantly I fought to steer

Straining for victory and pressing on, ever clutching to my oar

I saw the fright of shadows then, and new my fate to be

And saw the swells of water then, swallow many into the sea

 

But Woe!, I said full throatily, this affront means War!

I steeled myself, prepared my arms and set my face like flint

To cast my bones as iron shod, resolved to remain unbent

Yet vain were my labors made, when nearing the endless bore

Alas, I did not see you then, did not know your subtle way

How your casting shadows made, a contrast for the day

 

How the gleaming things of light, always you they wore

Your darkness ever follows them, beauty wears you at her feet

And all the burnished sights of day,  in the end you they meet

For how confused  a world would be, so made without your score

A puzzled dash of colors thrown, senseless and undefined

And so for life to win its fame, with you it is entwined

 

It took the years for me to see, to find your hidden lore

Now I see your shadow caste, from a mountain out at sea

The sun behind its highest peak, and no more long to flee

Readied to quit this feeble ship, and breach its veiled shore

Name my life by these final hours, you my constant kin

And tell my tale of dread and joy, as it has always been!

 

Cliff Hennings, OFM

Cliff Hennings, OFM

Clifford Hennings, OFM is a solemnly professed brother of the Order of Friars Minor in the Province of Saint John the Baptist. He is a third year student in the Master of Divinity program at Catholic Theological Union.

Leave a Reply

